[About This Site]  [Her Books]  [Her Life]  [Her Life]
D   o   r   i   s       L   e   s   s   i   n   g

African Stories

Year First Published: 1965
First Published by:Simon and Schuster
Category:Short Stories
This Edition:American first edition

From the book jacket:

This book includes every story written by Doris Lessing about Africa: all of her first collection, This Was the Old Chief's Country (unavailable in America); the four tales about Africa from Five (also unavailable); the African stories from The Habit of Loving and A Man and Two Women and four stories never before collected.

This, then, is Doris Lessing's Africa - where she lived for twenty-five years and where so much of her interest and concern still resides. Here, as she sees them, are the complexities, the agonies and joys, the textures of African life and society.

The collection, bridging as it does Mrs. Lessing's entire writing career, contains much of her most extraordinary work. Beyond that, it is a brilliant portrait of a world that is vital to all of us, shadowy to most of us - perceived by an artist of the first rank writing with passion and honesty about her native land.

It is a central book in the work of one of the most important of today's writers.

Also see:

In this Edition:

    The Black Madonna
    The Trinket Box
    The Pig
    The Old Chief Mshlanga
    A Sunrise on the Veld
    No Witchcraft for Sale
    The Second Hut
    The Nuisance
    The De Wets Come to Kloof Grange
    Little Tembi
    Old John's Place
    'Leopard' George
    Winter in July
    A Home for the Highland Cattle
    The Antheap
    The Words He Said
    Lucy Grange
    A Mild Attack of Locusts
    Flavours of Exile
    Getting Off the Altitude
    A Road to the Big City
    Plants and Girls
    The Sun Between Their Feet
    A Letter from Home
    The New Man
    The Story of Two Dogs

    Note: Stories in italics were not included in the British first edition.