[About This Site]  [Her Books]  [Her Life]  [Her Life]
D   o   r   i   s       L   e   s   s   i   n   g

Play with a Tiger
and Other Plays

Year First Published: 1996
Published by: Flamingo
Category: Drama
This Edition: British softcover original
ISBN: 0-00-649867-1

From the book cover:

Here, together in a single volume for the first time, is a collection of Doris Lessing's highly-acclaimed works for the stage. Written from the 1950s to the 1970s, they reflect the social and political concerns of her times with Doris Lessing's characteristic passion and incisiveness. Play With a Tiger follows the fortunes of Anna and Dave, representatives of the emerging post-war classless society, and their attempts to find a blueprint for living; The Singing Door, written for children, is a highly experimental play, a clever and witty allegorical study of power games; Each His Own Wilderness tells the story of Myra, who has fought all her life for the socialist ideal, and who must now come to terms with the fact that despite her best efforts, her son is indifference to her politics.

Provocative and inspiring, highlighting many of the themes at work in Doris Lessing's novels, these three plays are both a superb introduction to the thought of one of this century's most influential writers and a fascinating dissection of the social and political preoccupations of recent times.

Included in this volume:

  • Play with a Tiger (1962)
  • The Singing Door (1973)
  • Each His Own Wilderness (1959)

Also see: