[About This Site]  [Her Books]  [Her Life]  [Her Life]
D   o   r   i   s       L   e   s   s   i   n   g

The Sun Between Their Feet
Volume Two of Doris Lessing's
Collected African Stories

Year First Published: 1973
First Published by:Michael Joseph
Category:Short Stories
This Edition:British first edition

From the book cover:

All Doris Lessing's short novels and stories about Africa are now collected into two volumes, This Was The Old Chief's Country and The Sun Between Their Feet. This volume, contains four stories from the collection A Man And Two Women, eight stories from The Habit of Loving, five stories from African Stories ('Hunger' originally appeared in Five and two from the recent collection The Story of A Non-marrying Man And Other Stories.

'I believe', writes Doris Lessing, 'that the chief gift from Africa to writers, white and black, is the continent itself, its presence which for some people is like an old fever, latent always in their blood; or like an old wound throbbing in the bones as the air changes. That is not a place to visit unless one chooses to be an exile eve afterwards from an inexplicable majestic silence lying just over the border of memory or of though. Africa give you the knowledge that man is a small creature, among other creatures, in a large landscape.'

In this Edition:
    Spies I Have Known
    The Story of a Non-Marrying Man
    The Black Madonna
    The Trinket Box
    The Pig
    The Words He Said
    Lucy Grange
    A Mild Attack of Locusts
    Flavours of Exile
    Getting Off the Altitude
    A Road to the Big City
    Plants and Girls
    The Sun Between Their Feet
    The Story of Two Dogs
    The New Man
    A Letter from Home

Includes the Preface for the 1964 Collection and a new Preface for the 1973 Collection.

Bibliographical note:

'The Black Madonna', 'The Trinket Box', 'The Pig', 'Traitor' and 'Hunger' appeared in African Stories (Michael Joseph, 1964), 'Hunger' originally appeared in Five (Michael Joseph, 1953). 'The Story of Two Dogs', 'The Sun Between Their Feet', 'A Letter from Home' and 'The New Man' appeared in the 1963 MacGibbon and Kee collection, A Man and Two Women; 'The Story of a Non-marrying Man' in the collection of that name (Cape, 1972) together with 'Spies I have Known', and the rest of the stories in The Habit of Loving (MacGibbon and Kee, 1957).

Also see: